Co-chairs, committee announced for associate provost and Graduate College dean search

University of Iowa Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Kregel has named Amy Kristof-Brown and Kevin Legge co-chairs of the search committee tasked with selecting the next associate provost and dean of the Graduate College.

Amy Kristof-Brown

“I am grateful to Dean Kristof-Brown and Dr. Legge for their service to the university and their willingness to co-chair this important committee,” says Kregel. “The Graduate College is central to the university’s academic mission, and its leader will be—as Dean Keller has been—one of the university’s most influential advocates for excellence in graduate and professional education.”

Kristof-Brown was named dean of the Tippie College of Business in November 2020. An award-winning professor in Management and Entrepreneurship, she has also served as department executive officer, senior associate dean, and interim dean. She joined the Tippie College in 1997.   

Kevin Legge

Legge joined the faculty of the Department of Pathology in the UI Carver College of Medicine in 2004 and has a secondary appointment in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology. Since 2019, he has served as the director of the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Immunology, a program of which he has been a member since 2005. 

The following UI faculty, staff, and students will join Kristof-Brown and Legge as members of the search committee:

  • Tim Barrett, professor emeritus, Center for the Book, Graduate College
  • R. Kent Clark, vice president for main campus development, UI Center for Advancement
  • David Cwiertny, professor of civil and environmental engineering, College of Engineering
  • Michael Duffel, associate dean for research and graduate programs, College of Pharmacy
  • Nicole Green, postdoctoral research scholar, anatomy and cell biology, Carver College of Medicine, and UI Postdoctoral Association representative
  • Lucie Laurian, professor and associate director, School of Planning and Public Affairs, Graduate College
  • Katie McKibben, director of external relations, Graduate College
  • Ann Ricketts, associate vice president for research, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Iulian Vamanu, assistant professor, School of Library Science, Graduate College
  • Kezia Walker-Cecil, graduate student in linguistics, and Graduate and Professional Student Government representative
Related:  UI honors recipients of 2020 faculty, staff awards

The search committee is charged with finding the successor to John Keller, the longest-serving graduate dean in the Big Ten. 

Tenured full professors at the UI who are interested in the position are invited to apply. For more information about the position and how to apply, please see the search website.

Appointment of the next associate provost and dean is anticipated by July 1.

More from: | Category: University News